Janata Party (Secular)

The Janata Party (Hindi: जनता पार्टी) was an Indian political party founded by Raj Narain in July, 1979. On 16 July 1979 Charan Singhassumed its leadership and became the Prime Minister of India on 28 July 1979 with the support of the Indian National Congress (O)but resigned on 20 August 1979 after their withdrawal of support. The Janata Party led by Charan Singh was later renamed as Lok Dalbefore the Indian general election, 1980 but officially contested in the elections under its previous name. In the elections for the 7th Lok Sabha in 1980, the party won 41 seats and received 9.39% of the total votes polled.

Previous articleMorarji Desai
Next articleCharan Singh


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here