Second Nehru Ministry

Jawaharlal Nehru was sworn in as Prime Minister of India on 15 August 1947. After first Indian general election, Nehru became the first democratically elected Prime Minister of the country and his second term started on 15 April 1952. In his ministry upon reelection, the ministers were as follows.


Portfolio Minister Took office Left office Party
Prime Minister
Minister of External Affairs
Jawaharlal Nehru First Nehru Ministry Third Nehru ministry INC
Minister of Finance C. D. Deshmukh First Nehru ministry 1957 INC
Minister of Home Affairs Kailash Nath Katju First Nehru ministry 1955 INC
Govind Ballabh Pant 1955 Third Nehru ministry INC
Minister of Defence Baldev Singh First Nehru Ministry 1952 INC
Kailash Nath Katju 1955 1957 INC
Minister of Railways N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar First Nehru Ministry 13 May 1952 INC
Lal Bahadur Shastri 13 May 1952 7 December 1956 INC
Jagjivan Ram 7 December 1956 Third Nehru Ministry INC
Minister of Information and Broadcasting B. V. Keskar 1952 Third Nehru Ministry INC
Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Satya Narayan Sinha First Nehru ministry Third Nehru ministry INC
Previous articleFirst Nehru ministry
Next articleThird Nehru ministry


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here